Judging Multilinguals Fairly

Guest   Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:27 pm GMT
What do you mean? I don't know Chinese, I'm Australian and only know English. Just wondered what a 'dog' is... I've heard that word several times now but I haven't been able to find it in the dictionar.y
K. T.   Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:33 pm GMT
I mean the pet known as "Man's best friend."
Rokas   Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:54 pm GMT
Hello,

I would really like to become n-lingual =) . Yes, I'm jealous when I hear someone speak three or four languages but this jealousy is not mean. It only makes me myself to try harder; as for those who I am "jealous" with, I respect them.

My native language is Lithuanian. I had been learning English for more than 11 years when I joined university. I had put so much effort into my English and still was not satisfied. Now my command of English is only deteriorating (short-sightedness of Higher education in Lithuania is to be put blame on).

I consider I can speak two languages fluently: Lithuanian and English (you may argue about my knowledge of English). I had also learnt German for 6 years at school and for half a year at the university. I have recently acquired basic knowledge of Russian so that I know a few phrases and all the letters. I am also studying Ancient Greek for it has been my long-standing interest to learn Ancient Greek.

I set my future goal to improve my German and Russian as much as possible.

My thoughts on learning languages: each language learned will give you some potential knowledge of a language you might not have started learning yet - especially if those languages belong to the same language family. Therefore, the more languages you learn, the easier and the more effective your learning process will be.

I take great pleasure in learning languages. I'm always looking for people with similar interests as there are only physicists around me.

Good luck, language learners! =)
Xie   Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:42 am GMT