Memorizing vocabulary, what a pain!

wolf727   Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:46 am GMT
I have been reading the advice given by Tomasz on how to improve vocabulary and his preference for using an English-English Dictionary, i.e. a mono-lingual dictionary.

I agree wholeheartedly that reading is very important. I am studying French. I am trying to work out what is the best way for me to remember all of the words that I do look up whilst reading.

What I have been doing is when reading a novel, for example, I stop to look up a word, I underline it - and I even write the meaning in the margins sometimes - and then I move on until I come up to another word and the process continues.

Later I would write all these words together with the meanings from the dictionary in a Vocabulary notebook. This is where the problem begins.

The problem here is I end up with a lot of pages of words and phrases that I find overwhelming. Overwhelming because there are so many words, sentences and expressions which I copied from the dictionary and I can never manage to remember them.

It is just too dry, boring and difficult for me to remember the many meanings and example phrases. I try to copy it out several times in order to remember them but there is just too many for me to do! I am looking up and adding more words to the Vocab notebook than I remember. So my notebook is getting filled with pages and pages of new words and expressions and I haven't even memorized a page yet!

I have read from other posts that they use a dictionary to look up a word. But are you using, for example, a monolingual or bilingual dictionary?