Thomas Hardy

Gjones2   Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:57 am GMT
a indication -- an indication
Gjones2   Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:34 am GMT
Guest99, I'd be glad to join you in a discussion of Hardy's novels -- if I'd read any. I do like some of his poems, though. Also I have a copy of Jude the Obscure that I've never gotten around to reading.

As others have pointed out, forums tend to wander from topic to topic. A discussion that stays on topic for very long is unusual. If there were plenty of persons writing on-topic posts, the digressions wouldn't be such a problem, especially the ones that aren't provocative.

[By the way, I believe it's a good idea to put the labels "PLOT SPOILER START" and "PLOT SPOILER END" around passages that could significantly detract from a new reader's enjoyment of a work of fiction. Most persons don't want to know what will happen ahead of time. That's why I've merely skimmed your posts. I suppose I could make some general comments about some ideas that you bring up, but I don't want to stray into things that give away the plot.]

As for trying www.langcafe.net, you might do that. There aren't many persons over there, though. The chances of finding some who are prepared for a detailed discussion of that particular Hardy novel aren't very good. Also, though I haven't noticed any problems there with obvious trolls, that forum has been politicized too. There's one discussion there where they've been bashing the United States -- present and past -- for a couple of hundred posts.