What is the official language of the European Union?

Dulcinea del Toboso   Sunday, July 25, 2004, 09:01 GMT
Welcome, Easterner! I am half-Hungarian myself (my father and his family were born there). I wish I could speak and write Hungarian as well as you write English, which is very good.
Easterner   Sunday, July 25, 2004, 09:51 GMT
Üdvözöllek, Dulcinea! Gondolom, jártál már Magyarországon. Melyik országban élsz?

(Greetings, Dulcinea! I suppose you have been to Hungary. Which country do you live in?)

By the way, I started learning English when I was eight, and it is to a great extent my second language now. I use English as a necessity and a good way to communicate with people all around the globe, but I feel much refreshed when I switch to French or German.

I think that Hungarians at any rate will have to become multilingual in the future, because nobody understands our language in Europe :-). For those who may not know, it is distantly related to Finnish and Estonian, but they are as different as let's say Spanish or Russian - the two opposite ends of the family tree. And it has borrowed a lot from the Slavic languages around it, and also from Turkish, Latin and a bit from German, therefore it is in a way the English of Eastern Europe :-).
Easterner   Sunday, July 25, 2004, 10:12 GMT
Dear garans,